1 and 1 Editor's Review

1 and 1 Company Overview

1&1 Hosting was founded in 1998 and grew as one of the largest hosting providers in europe. In the year 2003, 1&1 launched their business in the US with the goal to provide better service and faster connections to all north american customers. The company provides service to more than 10 million customers' websites, deploying 65,000 servers and is financially stable, profitable, and thus secure. Currently 1&1 is the 5th largest web hosting provider in the US.

1&1 offers shared Linux hosting and Windows hosting at the same price. Their feature-rich web hosting plans starts at $3.99. It offers a free domain name, 10 GB of storage (wich is huge) and unlimited bandwidth. The package includes $75 in marketing bonuses, e.g. for Google AdWords. It has a billing cycle of only 6 months, wich means the total cost to pay is only $23.94 (for 6 months), so very affordable. Addtionally to virtual hosting, 1&1 offers VPS hosting and dedicated server hosting as well.

US customers' websites are hosted by 1&1 at their state-of-the-art data center in Lenexa, Kansas. Their customer service is avaiable 24/7/365. 1&1 gives a 90-day-money-back guarantee, wich is a high standard compared with most other providers, that only give 30 day-guarantees, if any at all.

We reviewed and tested 1&1 to see, if they keep what they promise.

Price Value

1&1's basic hosting package starts at $3.99 (if bought as a 6 months plan). That is a very good price and affordable, because the total cost per billing cycle (every 6 months) is less than $24. Many hosting providers take such low prices (if at all) only in connection with 36 months plans, so you need a lot more cash on hand to pre-finance this. This is especially important for individuals or small start-up-businesses, that need to take care of their cash flow.

This price offer is even greater, when it comes to Windows hosting. Most other hosting providers take much more for Windows hosting plans, than for Linux hosting. 1&1 offers all of their Linux and Windows hosting packages at the same prices.

The basic hosting plan for $3.99 /month includes a free domain, 10 GB of storage (that is more than enough for 95% of all websites today), unlimited bandwidth, 10 mySQL databases (100 MB each) and 600 email accounts. A website builder, a Blog application, an image gallery and a CGI Library are supported, as is PHP5. If more options, languages and applications are wanted (such as Perl, etc.) it is necessary to upgrade to a larger and more expensive hosting plan. However, most websites will come along well with the features included in the $3.99 plan.

Depending on the hosting plan customers choose, they can also obtain software bundles at a value of up to $900. A $75 marketing bonus is contained in the basic hosting plan, e.g. for Google advertising. Daily data backups are included for free. 1&1 promises a 90-day-money-back-guarantee and strives for 99.9% uptime.

All this is an extraordinary high money value. The features are professional, the capacity of this plan is huge and it is very affordable - especially, when it comes to Windows hosting.

Reliability and Performance

1&1 deploys 5 different locations, containing more than 65,000 servers and managing more than 10 million domains for their customers. Their data center in the US is located in Kansas. Due to their huge size, they operate with self-owned data centers, not as many other hosting providers, that only rent rack space at external facilities.

1&1 employs more than 250 developers and thus has cutting-edge technology. Such a large company can not be ignored by other big market players, and so 1&1 develops solutions in cooperation with experts from Google, Symantec, Plesk or Compaq. The 1&1 data centers provide high security levels (both physical and network-security) and are connected to the internet through multiple optical fibre cables for redundancy.

We tested the performance of 1&1 shared hosting packages and found it to be strong. Content loads lightning-fast and the connectivity is stable. We rate 1&1 data centers to be highly reliable.

Features and Control Panel

1&1 developed their protrietary control panel software to empower customers to manage their web hosting account. We find it orderly and pretty complete in its functionality. Domain management, billing, email-management, databases - everything can be managed with ease. There is nothing special about it, however.

1&1's control panel is not as great as cPanel, but it's ok and does what it should.

Support

1&1 provides 24/7 customer support through a toll-free telephone number and by email. When we called support with a self-made issue, we were content with the response time, the friendlyness, professionality and competence of the staff member.

In addition to live support, 1&1 offers a giant FAQ section to empower customers to help themselves.

We were content with 1&1's customer support. It fulfilled our high expectations.

Conclusion

Being one of the largest players in the web hosting industry, 1&1 has a strong reputation and there are many reasons for that. With more than 10 million domains and +65,000 servers in 5 data centers, 1&1 became huge in both, Europe and the US.

Their basic package has a high value and is very affordable. Especially the Windows hosting packages are even stronger in their price value in comparison to other Windows-hosting providers.

Due to their sheer size, 1&1 operates in different ways than small web hosting companies could ever. They own their data centers and do not rent rack space at facilities, owned by other companies. Due to this, their own 5 state-of-the-art data centers and their 250+ development experts, they offer high performance and reliability.

1&1's control panel is middle-class though. However, it does what it should. 24/7 toll-free telephone and email support was responsive, competent and helpful.

1&1 also provides VPS hosting and dedicated servers. To make their offer complete, they provide many additional services, like webdesign, domain-only hosting, ecommerce solutions and search engine visibility services.

We see 1&1 as a professional and very affordable web hosting provider. When it comes to Windows hosting, their prices are hard to beat for the competition.
Michael Lederstatter
Editor-In-Chief
Michael loves helping people like you finding the best hosting provider for their individual needs.

Michael is founder of Buy-Hosting.net and the web agency www.website-werkstatt.de. He works as a web designer and server admin since 1998.

When he's not blogging, he's probably outdoors growing food in his garden or doing something awesome with his dearest and the kids.
Editor rating:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  • Very affordable, starting at $3.99 for a 6 months plan
  • Super-affordable Windows hosting with many features
  • VPS hosting and dedicated servers available
  • Huge, reliable, profitable company, thus secure
  • 24/7 toll-free telephone support
  • Not all features are included in the budget plan (e.g. no Perl, no SSH). If they are needed, it is necessary to upgrade to a more expensive plan (wich in comparison to other hosting providers is still a good price).
Screenshot of 1 and 1's web site

1 and 1 Reviews by 16 Users

 
Total Rating:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.6
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.7
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.6
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
 
16 User Ratings
5 Stars
 
7
4 Stars
 
3
3 Stars
 
2
2 Stars
 
1
1 Star
 
3
Hans-Peter
Germany
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: July 4, 2014
Unlimited bandwitdh and NetObjects Fusion 2013 (I love it!). I use their "1&1 performance" plan and the 2 Gigabyte of guaranteed RAM rock. The sites performance is incredibly fast for a shared hosting plan. I was with 1&1 since the beginning, as they are from my country. Hosting international sites with US audience I only use the US department of 1&1. I am a fan of them, clear recommendation.
Linda Haley
Florida
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: November 2, 2013
I have been a customer of their for quite some time. I like their plans and I like their services. The seamless changes are great and ability to easily update my site right from the control panel.

I also appreciate the fact that I do not have to call in to customer service for every trivial question. I do not know much on the technical front, but their faq page and their online tutorials have proven to be of great assistance to me.

No matter what I am looking for, it is quite easy to find on these pages. I like their low pricing scheme. and, when they say unlimited it really is unlimited or at least has been for me as a customer.

I have had nothing but a good experience and relationship with 1&1 as my host and I plan on remaining with them. Clearly a recommendation.
Keisha
Japan
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.7
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: April 5, 2012
They are insistent, via email, phone, and other support but they are very low priced service provider. I do get rather annoyed that they try to upgrade my service, but a majority of the times I simply ignore their service request. I am happy with hosting and service and low price. This is enough to keep me on board as customer.
Jamie
United States
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.6
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
submitted: January 9, 2012
I have had many issues with them. First, they do not offer unlimited storage as they claim. I found that immediately upon adding video and other content, I was told that I had to buy more space. I was not aware of these unfair practices before I decided to go with them as my host.

They have polite service agents, but the fact that they don't understand issues means you are sitting on the phone with them for hours on end, trying to resolve a simple issue.

Their price plans also jump up significantly if you do not choose to go with the basic plan and the one which they claim to be unlimited. Which is really not unlimited!

I have not had a good experience with them. Its hard to say whether or not they are a good host... as I have not been able to keep my site up long enough to determine the quality of their service.
Abdullah
Morocco
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.1
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.8
submitted: July 18, 2011
I have been with them for nearly five years. my site is developed, and they offer decent support. I find that they do not provide a modern CMS which is essential in being able to take care of my clients. They do resolve problems quickly, which is something that I appreciate. Downtime is an issue, but at least is not for hours at a time. when they have problem with server they do reset things quickly and get site up and running in a short period of time. The fact that they are so affordable and provide quite few services through control panel is something that I like. Is likely to keep me with them for my future service needs also. So is good!
Andreas Hirmer
Switzerland
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: June 11, 2011
In the six years I have been with this company I have never been disappointed. They guarantee 99% uptime, but like most other hosts this is not the case.

what I do appreciate, is the fact that they fix the problem in a short period of time when the sites do go down. I like the intuitive control panel. it is easy to use, even for someone like me who is not very in tune and aware of the technical side of site building.

customer service is great. you can't ask for much better when you are dealing with a large company. I also appreciate the fact that I can host my site outside of the US with them. with a different host I was with , prior to making the switch, I was having problems with Europe-Based customers, and for quite some time, this has no longer been the case after I decided that I was going to come over and use them as a host for my online e commerce business page.
Derick Silva
USA
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
submitted: November 26, 2010
I bought a mid range plan. on the control panel, a mobile service is listed as available but when I tried to use it, it says I had to upgrade. When I called customer service I was on the phone with them for over one hour. Just to hear them tell me they did not know the issue I was having or why I was not able to use the service.

I do not know what customer service is for if they can't answer a basic question such as if a service is included or not. and, if not, why it is listed as an available service for the price I was paying. I am going to downgrade to the basic plan. as the service I want is unavailable, I am not going to pay even more, for a similar plan and just one additional feature.

I was disappointed, but their plan is pretty decent for a low price point.
Roscoe
I dont tell you
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.9
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.8
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.3
submitted: October 1, 2010
Having my small website hosted by 1and1 for a decent time, I was happy with them. However, they increased my price by 30% and that sucks. OK, they need to build up on hardware and employees, but thats not my problem. I then called the support and told them how I feel about it. This support dude couldnt help me at all!!! I wont go on with 1and1, that is not acceptable!
Pedro
Ecuador
Knowledge: Expert
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: July 10, 2010
As web designer, my clients get recomended 1and1 by me always. No problems, fast, easy and low price. every own project is hosting there. Supercharged everything with them and very happy. My clients too all.
Pjotr
Russia
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: May 29, 2010
1and1's cpanel does good job. Is intuitive, even idiot gets it from scratch. I can drop features into my site with easility. 1and1 is good provider with many innovations. Good price.
Randolph Burks
New York
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: April 7, 2010
I found out - only by accident- that we were losing emails due to the poor quality of hosting 1&1 was providing us. I found out due to the fact that the emails kept going back to our customers. I was informed by them, that issues were not being resolved.

When I contacted the host, they were not able to pin point the issue, and they kept taking me to different departments, in order to find out what the issue was with the email hosting. regardless, I did not wait for them to figure things out as the hosting was hurting my business and my reputation with my clients. I can't really talk about overall service, as I found a major issue with them early on and decided that I would part ways with the host.

I was not happy with the service offerings that they provided, and would not give them another try.
Diego
Argentina
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.4
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
submitted: May 25, 2009
Multiple domains setup, 5 years with 1 and 1. Never reasons to complain, all running as it should. SSH access is a great plus for me and I can do many things with this server that wouldnt be possible otherwise.
Ramiro Hays
US
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
submitted: July 21, 2008
I was pissed off to hear, that parts of administration are in Germany, although they say they are from Pennsilvania. Stuff didnt work and they couldnt fix it without them. Not happy with what I got and they wont let me go.
Shane
United States
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.4
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
submitted: June 23, 2008
Some time ago I bought 1 and 1's ecom plan. I was surprised how much it contained for such a low price. Using the site builder was easy. I dont wanna talk big, but I love my site's look and feel. If you are starting an online business, here are my 2 cents. 1 and 1 was right for me.
Vaughn
San Antonio TX
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
submitted: April 10, 2008
Seeing other hosts disappearing, dieing and so on... 1 and 1 is huge and they will never go under. I run more than 30+ sites with them and there was never any issue!
Joe
United States
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: April 5, 2008
I spent many years with them and still think they're the best. The prices are low. Sometimes email is a little slow, but that's not really important.
 

About Buy-Hosting.net

Buy-Hosting.net is a webmaster ressource that helps you to choose the right web hosting provider for your individiual needs.

We are crazy about great web hosting, competitive prices and comparability. Discover in-depth reviews by our editors and users, ratings and coupons. Check out great blog posts about hosting-related topics for webmasters. How about you contributing and writing a user review too?