FatCow Editor's Review

FatCow Company Overview

Since 1998, Fatcow has been providing hosting services, from two data centers to clients. Affordable shared hosting is offered, and the company works through 100% wind powered data centers, making them a top choice for customers looking for a "green" host. A simple plan that fits all, is the Fatcow motto; at $3.67 (for 3 year) or $5.50 (for 1 year), customers get: unlimited storage, bandwidth, email, databases, and more. $125 advertising bonuses are also provided to new customers, and 24/7 support is provided; with customer satisfaction as the number #1 priority, Fatcow offers several great hosting features, for one low price.

Price Value

Either $3.67 a month or $5.50 a month (depending on whether you choose 3 or 1 year subscriptions). This is everything unlimited hosting which Fatcow offers. Free domain, unlimited storage, bandwidth, emails, FTP users, site builder tools, SSL, e commerce tools, and more, come in this price package. Install wizards also help you add blogs, or new photos, when you are developing your page. Script language support, extensions, and various apps, are also included in the plan price. $125 in advertising, an anytime money back guarantee, and support 24/7, are just some of the features you are going to receive, at this low price point, if you select to work with Fatcow as your host of choice.

Reliability and Performance

With 2 data centers, high end technologies, and total redundancies, your site is fully protected, and up and running at the fastest speeds, at all times. A pooled server set up, also puts you in a pool with similar sites, for support and faster speeds. RAID arrays, are aligned with the pools, for optimal support, and back ups. Additional power generators are set up, in the event of a power outage.

Features and Control Panel

The intuitive design, is a self developed control panel, which is simple for anyone to use. Management tasks can be completed via the small icons, and a status bar can provide valuable information about your site at any time. You can also view stats about hosting at any time, including amount of bandwidth or storage space you are currently using.

Support

The "Heifer Crathic Oath" ensures quick service, and answers within a 2 minute time of customers calling in. 24/7 support, 365 days, via a toll free number, along with email support, are some great ways to contact the support team. Live chat is also available, tutorials, and FAQ sections are also offered, through the online knowledge base that Fatcow provides to their online customers.

Conclusion

Green, affordable, friendly, and fun; plus, the one package, low price solution fits all approach, is great for any sized business, and any customer in need of great hosting, for less. They provide a great technical infrastructure, and performance, speed, and security, are among the best in the industry today. A pooled server approach, also means less down time, and fewer errors with your site. A self developed control panel is extremely easy to learn how to use, along with exceptional customer service, and guarantees, makes Fatcow a top choice, for those who are in search of a new online host.
Michael Lederstatter
Editor-In-Chief
Michael loves helping people like you finding the best hosting provider for their individual needs.

Michael is founder of Buy-Hosting.net and the web agency www.website-werkstatt.de. He works as a web designer and server admin since 1998.

When he's not blogging, he's probably outdoors growing food in his garden or doing something awesome with his dearest and the kids.
Editor rating:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  • Everything unlimited plan starting at $3.67 /month
  • Outstanding 24x7 support by Phone, live Chat or Email
  • Lightning-fast servers, highly reliable infrastructure
  • Green: powered 100% by wind energy
  • Anytime money-back-guarantee
  • No Windows Hosting
Screenshot of FatCow's web site

FatCow Reviews by 13 Users

 
Total Rating:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.4
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.9
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
 
13 User Ratings
5 Stars
 
7
4 Stars
 
5
3 Stars
 
0
2 Stars
 
0
1 Star
 
1
Brandon D.
US Nebraska
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: June 30, 2013
This is the first time that I have built a site with such a sitebuilder tool and I can say it was truly the easiest process. When Fatcow says unlimited, they really mean it. I have a gaming site and have quite a few videos and extensive files. There were no issues on placing these on the site. I love the response time wich is very fast. visitors can get on to the site in literally a fraction of a second which is great for conversion ratio. I am very pleased with the support. when I began I had a few questions. No matter what time of the night or what type of question, someone was always there and solved it withing minutes. Uptime has been an issue twice, but I guess that would be the case everywhere.
Arthur Lawson
Australia
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: May 19, 2013
For 1.5 years now, fatcow has been nothing but great for my business. I rarely deal with downtime. I was with another host previously and my site was always down. This alone is a blessing as all of my site visitors are able to get on to the site at any time of the day. I also appreciate the service and customer support. I called in a few times to deal with either a customer complaint or other issue. not only do they resolve the problem quickly, they were fair. Staff provided me with credit more than once, if I have had issues with their hosting. Overall, fatcow is a recommendable company.
Maria
United States
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.1
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: June 20, 2011
Fat Cow helped me in setting up my business last year. I would have been lost in the tech details if it were not for their assistance and ease of using their control panel. Most of what I needed was online. If I could not find it on the control panel, I could simply call in or use the chat.

My only complaint is the downtime at certain peak hours. Downtime has been an issue for customers at times. This is not very long, but it does hurt my business. If they resolved these issues, Fat Cow would be the ideal host and would receive a perfect rating.
Theodore Porter
Connecticut
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: May 10, 2011
Fat cow is the ideal host. I do not have a lot of experience in hosting, site development, or the like. But I found Fatcow's support team to be exceptional in helping an individual such as myself. Not only does it provide step by step guides, it also features tutorials. The intuitive dashboard control panel is the easiest thing to figure out. I can see what icons to choose, so I can build. I am also able to see site stats and other information all in one place as I am building up my new site. Support was also great. I could call, email or live chat. All respond rapidly and all are accurate. At such a low price that is awesome. Great cow thumbs up.
George
United States
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.2
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: October 21, 2010
Fat Cow is a good provider in all respects, but uptime. We had several downtime issues. They were resolved mostly rather quickly, however the persistently came back until today. Support was helpful and the price is right.
Ernst Schneeberger
Germany
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: October 13, 2010
We have our business website hostet with the fat cow. And until today they do a good job. Uptime and support was high and the website loads fast. They are a green host and we like that for a good environment protection everyone should do that. Recomend!
Reuben S.
USA
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
submitted: August 10, 2010
The features offered with my hosting plan were excellent. As an e commerce site, I loved the bonuses and free advertising promotions fat cow gave me. They had support available at any time when I needed them. Since I do business in the US and worldwide, if my site is ever down, I can simply call in and see what the problem is. They did go down, but not often. The staff always me an estimate as to when it is going to be back up. I like their plan at the low price and I like that support is responding in a timely fashion.
Randolph Sims
Texas
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: August 7, 2010
Fatcow is funny, green and works perfectly. I am a happy customer since some years and can say only good things about Fatcow.
Randy
USA
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.4
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: May 29, 2010
The no limits on virtual policy is something that I appreciated. I can add video, text and nearly any other file type. the fact that they do not have any limits on bandwidth or disk space is ideal for me. I appreciate the fact that it is a site builder for nearly anyone, regardless of their skill level or level of understanding. I love their support. you can call in nearly any time of the day and they are going to respond quickly. They will take as much time as you need in order for them to answer the questions you have. I have only been with them for about 8 months, but as of yet, I am very happy and can't think of any complaints.
Clint
Great Britain
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: March 26, 2010
Fatcow kept every promise they made. It all works as I expect it to function. Support waiting time was less than one minute for me. They speed of the servers could be a little bit faster. Everything else is as it should be.
Phillip Johnson
US
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: March 8, 2010
As a green company, Fatcow is a wind powered host. this was important for us, as we like sustainable energy. Companies that also use sustainable energy sources in powering their Fatcow's pricing is very competitive. when we paid for the entire year at once, we also found that everything is included. Unlimited disk space is a blessing in disguise when we were building our new site. I also like their customer support policy, they call that "HeiferCratic Oath" funny dudes :-). Support was good when we needed it. They were great from day one and still, one year later, we are happy with the service and site development tools.
Paco
New Mexico
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
submitted: July 19, 2009
Fatcow seems to have not much more intelligence than fat cows! Maybe the name is a hint? I had an awful experience with them. Several days of downtime, hardware failures and slow servers. The performance is poor quality. Not to be recommended.
Darrel
New Zealand
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: February 11, 2008
Fatcow changed my opinion about big hosting companies. Before hosting my website with fatcow, wich happened rather by chance, I thought that huge hosts are like factories. Thought a single client would be of no importance and they would be slow and not very responsive. Boy was I wrong! My website loads super fast and there was no downtime yet.
 

About Buy-Hosting.net

Buy-Hosting.net is a webmaster ressource that helps you to choose the right web hosting provider for your individiual needs.

We are crazy about great web hosting, competitive prices and comparability. Discover in-depth reviews by our editors and users, ratings and coupons. Check out great blog posts about hosting-related topics for webmasters. How about you contributing and writing a user review too?