Host Papa Editor's Review

Host Papa Company Overview

Although it was only founded in 2006, Host Papa has become a fast growing online host, with over 50,000 clients, in a short period of time. For small to mid-sized, environmentally conscious business owners, Host Papa has become a go to company for their hosting needs. Starting at $4.95, with a free domain for life, and unlimited bandwidth and disk space, the company provides a one-size fits all hosting plan.

The company provides "green" hosting; this means their offices, computers, and everything they operate, are run by 100% renewable energy sources, such as solar power. With this said, the company is a top hosting provider, and offers a free 30 day trial, along with 24/7 customer support service. And, with over $500 in rewards, for Google Adwords, Yahoo, and other SEO bonuses, they provide a fairly reasonable offer, for a low monthly price.


Price Value

Like other hosts, rather than offering confusing price plans and services, Host Papa opted to provide one service plan, for all customers. Starting at $4.95, customers receive a free domain name for life, unlimited storage, email, bandwidth, and databases. Further, customers receive unlimited add-ons, parked and sub-domains. Their featured package also includes: PHP, CGI, Perl, mySQL, SSI, frontpage extensions, web stats, and various other features.

Marketing bonuses, valued at over $500 are also included. From Google Adwords, to Yahoo, and SEO tools, several bonuses are provided in their package plan. Secure checkout, paypal connections, and other e commerce tools, also make their hosting simple for those building a web shop. Multimedia players, including Shockwave and Flash support, along with Real Video and Audio, make site production simple.


Reliability and Performance

OC48/ Gigabyte fiber optical connections are used in Host Papa's offices, through different providers, for total network redundancy. A triplet redundant firewall provides protection, USB and diesel powered backup are featured, in the event of an emergency outage. Experts are on site 24/7, in the event of an emergency, and machines and people constantly monitor the power and router connections to avoid outages. Fire suppression and climate control system are also employed in their offices. Uniformed security provide optimal protection to data centers.

Intel servers are used by Host Papa, and Cisco system powered routers and switches, along with mirrored RAID arrays, hold customers' files in place. 99.9% uptime is guaranteed, and backups are performed regularly, and data files are transferred to other locations regularly, to ensure they are secure.

Features and Control Panel

cPanel is used, and all administrative functions are performed within the organization. cPanel is intuitive, easy to understand, and large icons are easy to read. Stats, included current disk space, bandwidth, and other information, are all displayed on the main screen.

Support

Email support is offered 24/7, 365 days a year, and a live chat option, or telephone number are provided, for assistance in English and French. Videos, tutorials, and other services are also provided, for customers to do things on their own.

Conclusion

The 100% green provided, is young, but rapidly growing; with affordable plans, and high value services, small to mid-size businesses will appreciate their service offerings. At $4.95, and over $500 in bonuses, the value is great for customers. Technical support and security meet the highest standards, and the use of cPanel, provides a mature control panel, and long list of features to users. Great online and over the phone support, are also features consumers can appreciate, and completes a relatively strong, online host.


Michael Lederstatter
Editor-In-Chief
Michael loves helping people like you finding the best hosting provider for their individual needs.

Michael is founder of Buy-Hosting.net and the web agency www.website-werkstatt.de. He works as a web designer and server admin since 1998.

When he's not blogging, he's probably outdoors growing food in his garden or doing something awesome with his dearest and the kids.
Editor rating:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  • Everything-unlimited plan starting at $3.95/month Very high reliability, performance and security Indeed a high-quality, budget-price provider 30-day-money-back guarantee Green: 100% renewable, green energy

  • Only shared Linux Hosting plans at the moment Pretty new company, established 2006

Screenshot of Host Papa's web site

Host Papa Reviews by 11 Users

 
Total Rating:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.4
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.7
 
11 User Ratings
5 Stars
 
9
4 Stars
 
1
3 Stars
 
1
2 Stars
 
0
1 Star
 
0
Ernie Cantu
United States
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: March 28, 2014
I have been with host papa for the past two years. Their support is excellent. They staff members were able to assist me quickly. Saying this, I need to add, that I tried only email support and phone support. No idea about the support tickets or chat.
I love the control panel. simple app design icons allow you to easily do the work and build the site. I love their site features.
If you like simplicity, reliable and fast servers and helpful support, host papa is a great choice.
Edmund Spoerl
Munich
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: March 10, 2013
I have several sites with Hostpapa for the past four years now. Site builder works very well. It allows you to set up the site and provides a simplified approach to hosting. Even if you do not have too much experience in site building, you should find it quite simple to handle.

Hostpapa's customer service is somewhat like a positive example how it should be. Whether I called or sent an email, there was always a quick response.

Issues with downtime I experienced only a few times within the past years. They are generally taken care of quickly. The control c panel is very simple to understand. Icons allow to easily modify, add, delete, or otherwise edit the site.

I am happy with Hostpapa and appreciate it.
Milford
UK
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
submitted: February 4, 2013
After a frustrating experience with another host, I made the move to host papa five years ago. since then, I have been quite happy with their services. A simplified control panel, responsive customer service and unlimited everything. The price is right. Even when I had unusual requests or needed assistance doing something with my site, Papa was quick to assist me. Great hosting and for such a low price I couldn't ask for better services. What else can one ask his father for :)
Efren Ballard
somewhere up the hills
Knowledge: Expert
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: April 21, 2012
We have worked with Hostpapa.com for several years. With a small e commerce business that operates in the US and beyond, we need a site that is always up and running and does not experience downtime regularly. this is just what we got. If we ever had to call in for services or need a problem resolved, Hostpapa's service team were quickly there to resolve it.

Email support was exceptional. I was surprised with the last message which they responded to in under 1 hour. That is really not usual in the industry. Phone support is exceptional as well and we have never waited for more than 2 or 3 minutes to get a response.

If you are looking for honest hosting, low prices and great customer service, that is what we got. Simple control panel and simple design features. Pages load in a snap wich is great for a good ranking on Google.
Tony
Santa Barbara, CA
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: July 2, 2010
If you have a small site like I do, hostpapa is definitely a great solution. I don't know how it works with huge sites though. Cant say too much about the support. There was no reason to call as of yet. I suppose the staff is as professional as the rest of the service. Packages are cheap and offer a lot of features.
Frank Crawford
United States
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: March 16, 2010
I have two accounts with Hostpapa. one I have had for two years, the second one I have had for one year. My first site is e commerce. it operates well. The shopping cart feature is easy to use and the online payment plan was quite easy to set up. The second site is a blog. I am able to easily add new content as are my site visitors. It is aslo easy for my site visitors to comment and interact with each other.

If you do not have much experience with site building, you will find Hostpapa to allow you to learn it slowly. I did not know much when I started. for an e commerce page, I wanted it to work well to ensure I would be able to get paid quickly. The icons made site building a breeze. It allowed me to build a site that looks good and provids a safe payment method through my SSL certificate. There are site features which are easy to work with and easy design tools on the control panel make setting up a good looking page.
Jesse H
Montana
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: January 10, 2010
Hostpapa's control panel is quite simple. I found it to be easy to build a page, even though I did not have much experience. I came from a different host, which had slightly lower prices but was horrible with customer care. Hostpapa is easy and their service team is reliable. I called in twice and they answered questions within minutes. Email support is generally answered within a couple of hours if you mark the message as an urgent message.

For the low monthly price I pay, for the features and for the unlimited services, I am quite happy with what Hostpapa provides. Simplicity, low price and good customer service. Hostpapa is a top choice host.
Raphael
Canada
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.6
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
submitted: August 21, 2009
If you plan to use IMAP, I can not say it really works reliable. If IMAP is important for you, go to another provider. The rest of the hosting service seems to be ok, however this is a key feature for me.
Jon
USA
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.7
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: July 24, 2009
Host papa has helped me out on every issue. My website was always up and running with fast loading speed. MySQL support is superfast. The price is quiet competitive as well. Host papa was a sound choice for me.
Valerie
France
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: June 9, 2009
Hostpapa has a datacenter in Europe as well as in the US. Not only can I pay in US dollars, but also in Euros, wich I like more. They offer support in Europe as well. The service is excellent to say the least.
Spencer Glass
Wyoming
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: August 17, 2008
I am a big fan of Hostpapa. Green energy is an important issue for the whole world. It's amazing to see that big companies start taking that seriously and do something about it. In terms of Hostpapa's service I am pleased too. When I called the staff they were right on target. I needed to use an SSL cert on my shopping cart and they helped me get it up and running.
 

About Buy-Hosting.net

Buy-Hosting.net is a webmaster ressource that helps you to choose the right web hosting provider for your individiual needs.

We are crazy about great web hosting, competitive prices and comparability. Discover in-depth reviews by our editors and users, ratings and coupons. Check out great blog posts about hosting-related topics for webmasters. How about you contributing and writing a user review too?