HostGator Editor's Review

HostGator Company Overview

HostGator.com LLC is a fastly growing, profitable company, that was founded in 2002 by chairman Brent Oxley, who started it from his room at Florida Atlantic University with 3 servers. Today, HostGator manages more than 4 million domains, deploying 4,000+ servers for 225,000 customers in more than 200 countries. The company's current headquarter is located in Houston, Texas.

HostGator provides shared hosting, reseller hosting, VPS hosting and dedicated servers. Their budget web hosting package starts at $4.95 /month, providing a free domain, unlimited storage, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited databases and $100 in Google Adwords Credits. Furthermore, HostGator is specialized in reseller hosting. Reseller plans start from $24.95 /month, with unlimited domains, 50 GB storage and 500 GB bandwidth.

HostGator promises 99.9% uptime and gives a 45-days-money-back-guarantee. Additionally, they provide the industry leading Site Studio website designer for easy site building.

And HostGator.com is a green web host, deploying certified renewable energy, like wind or solar power to power their data centers and offices. They are commited to protect the environment by investing in clean electricity.


Price Value

Host Gator is specialized in reseller hosting. However, they also provide their direct customers with attractive plans for shared hosting, VPS hosting and dedicated server hosting. The budget plan (called "Hatchling") provides all these things unlimited: storage, bandwidth, subdomains, FTP users, eMail accounts and mySQL databases - for $4.95 /month (if signed up as a 3-year plan). As we wrote this review, there was a "Cyber-Monday Super Sale", with everything 50% off! So the price for the "Hatchling"-plan is $2.48 /month on Cyber-Mondays - watch out for these special prices.

Geeks will be happy to hear about the many detailed features of HostGator's package: unlimited MySQL Databases (with phpMyAdmin), PHP5, Python, RoR, SSH, Cron Jobs, FrontPage Extentensions, SSI, Curl, GD2, ImageMagick and Streaming Audio/Video work at this feature-packed hosting plan. Fantastico 1-click installer allows customers to add 52 applications like Blogs, Content Management, Forums, Galleries or Wikis with ease. Many ecommerce applications and a shared SSL certificate are included in the web hosting package as well. The free site builder comes with more than 4,500 design templates.

Additionally, $100 in Google AdWords credits are given. HostGator guarantees 99.9% uptime, gives a 45-days-money-back guarantee and provides 24/7 customer support through a toll free telephone number.

This hosting plan is very feature-rich and professional. The service level and the quality is high. Although we know cheaper hosting plans at other providers, the price value of this one is high, considering all these features and extras.


Reliability and Performance

HostGator hosts in datacenters of "The Planet" in Dallas, Texas and is The Planet's largest client. These datacenters are equipped with cutting-edge technology, security, cooling and fire-protection systems. The data center is connected to the internet via 10 backbone fibre connections of the largest providers like AT&T, Level3, Time Warner, Global Crossing and others.

HostGators data centers are 24/7 staffed with experts monitoring all activities. Additionally, the software DataTrax monitors the whole infrastructure. The network is Cisco Systems Certified. Emergency diesel generators are installed to provide continuous service in case of a power outage. Offsite data backups are performed on a weekly basis.

Host Gator's performance and realiability can be ranked to be high.

Features and Control Panel

HostGator uses cPanel, the industry-leading control panel, for providing their customers a self-management software for their hosting accounts. CPanel is intuitive, easy to use, has nice icons and is orderly organized. It is the most used control panel and our favourite software for controlling web hosting accounts.

With cPanel it is easy to change mySQL databases, enter new email addresses and see statistics, such as the used bandwidth and storage space. Additionally, 52 applications can be installed via fantastico, wich is neatlessly integrated in HostGators control panel. With fantastico, customers can easily install galleries, forums, blogs, content management or online shop applications with one click.

CPanel in our opinion is one the best control panels that exists.

Support

Host Gator provides their customers with 24/7/265 live support. There is a toll-free support telephone number, a live chat and a ticket system. Additionally to that, there is a support forum, a knowledge base and an online support portal with more then 500 flash video tutorials and 680+ help articles.

HostGator made a survey among their existing clients to find out, what they think about support quality. More than 90% of them responded, they are content and that support is responsive and competent. We found out, HostGator's support indeed is.

HostGators has a fast, responsive and friendly support and a toll free telephone number. We rank support quality at this company to be very high.

Conclusion

HostGator is one of the larger web hosting enterprises, managing more than 4 million domains. Although they are specialized in reseller hosting, HostGator offers shared hosting, VPS hosting and dedicated hosting as well. They are a green hosting provider, using cetrified renewable energy to protect the environment.

Their budget hosting plan "Hatchling" is a feature-packed, high quality web hosting package, starting at $4.95 /month (if signed up for a 3-year plan). The high-value package comes with $100 Google credits and many, many features.

HostGator promisses 99.9% uptime and provides 24/7 support through a toll free telephone number. They give a 45-day-money-back-guarantee.

HostGator uses the industry-leading cPanel as a control panel. Support is responsive, competent and helpful.

In shared hosting, we see HostGator as a good and professional provider. In reseller hosting, Host Gator is first class.


Michael Lederstatter
Editor-In-Chief
Michael loves helping people like you finding the best hosting provider for their individual needs.

Michael is founder of Buy-Hosting.net and the web agency www.website-werkstatt.de. He works as a web designer and server admin since 1998.

When he's not blogging, he's probably outdoors growing food in his garden or doing something awesome with his dearest and the kids.
Editor rating:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  • Unlimited-plan starting at 4.95/month (3-year plan) 45 day Money Back Guarantee 99.9% Uptime Guarantee $100 in Google Bonuses 24/7 toll free telephone number and live chat support

  • No Windows hosting available

Screenshot of HostGator's web site

HostGator Reviews by 18 Users

 
Total Rating:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.4
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
 
18 User Ratings
5 Stars
 
7
4 Stars
 
4
3 Stars
 
2
2 Stars
 
1
1 Star
 
4
Nigel Hurley
South Africa
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: October 6, 2013
In almost one decade of hosting, I believe I have only experienced downtime for my site a handful of times. Hostgator's customer service is great. although the rate of answering tickets has increased a bit, it is not something that is not resolved in a day at most.

Their site features are excellent. and when they say unlimited it is truly unlimited features. I have been very happy with HG. Plus, for the price that I pay (I am still locked in to the lower price I paid initially when I signed up with them), it is hard to find any other service provider that is going to offer me similar services. They are excellent.
Lyle Salas
USA, North Carolina
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: April 30, 2013
Before choosing Host gator, I shopped around. it has been 1.5 years and I am still happy with the quality of their services. I love the easy to use control panel and I love the fact that I can monitor my site. As well as review site visitor and other history right from the main screen on my homepage dashboard.
Luis Jose Munoz
Spain (Malaga)
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.9
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: December 7, 2012
Hostgator is worst company I ever hosted with.

There customer service team tells you that you should buy variety of more features. Most of them not interesting or needed. In addition to poor feature and tool selection, site development tools dont look no great.

And, the fact that you are doing it all on your own, does make it even harder for you to build up your new site. I have had quite a few problems with hostgator, and would not recommending them to anybody.

Do not be fooled, and do not delve in to there sales tricks. Better before you learn more about them, and read reviews. Many peoples are unsatisfied with hostgator and is not good.
Damien Lee
Ireland
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: December 19, 2011
I was a former customer of Godaddy and unhappy. After wasting too much time with their useless support system, I changed over to Hostgator. The switch didn't work as it should but that was my fault. I called Hostgators support and real people solved my issue in less than 5 minutes. My site works just fine since I switched and I am happy about pretty everything.
Birger Olsen
Norway
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: October 13, 2011
Support, features, uptime... I can't find any complaint with Host Gator. They are really one of the best online and truly the best company that I have used for any hosting needs I have had for my online sites.
Best of all, the prices are hard to be, with all of the unlimited features that they provide at such a low price point to their customers on the site.
Michael
US
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: March 14, 2011
I have been charged for months after cancelling my service at Host Gator. Further, they block my domain name, as my contract with them was only set to expire in the middle of 2014.

So I can't take my site elsewhere until that time elapses. I have already contacted other hosts, but until I can make the change, I am stuck.

If you do fall in to their trap and sign with them, be very careful what you are paying for, and what they are actually charging you for the services that they are providing to you.
Grant Baxter
New Zealand
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: December 11, 2010
Gator powers 3 of my websites. They run like crazy!

I am very satisfied!
Damien
USA
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: November 19, 2010
HG is ok. Nothing special or bad to say about them. The folks there are friendly guys. Price is average. Speed is average. Some downtimes, but only a few. Pretty standard, but ok.
Emory Burns
Canada
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: November 7, 2010
Hostgator
...helped me to get my website up and running in a snap
...charge only a ridiculous amount of cash
...have real humans that answer the phone in less than 2 minutes

5 stars A+
Pamela Dorsey
California
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: October 12, 2010
I have been a customer with HostGator for four years. And, up until December of 2013, did not have a single complaint with this company. Since then, they have seemed to slow down a bit in terms of their customer service and support. It seems that if you call in, the wait time is a little longer (maybe an additional minute of wait), and their email support has also slowed down a bit in comparison to what it was when I initially signed up with them.

These are only minor issues and apart from that I still have no other complaints about HostGator. They really do offer exceptional hosting and they have the easiest c panel to work with, so you can build your site very easily. If they can get their response times back up to where they were a year ago, I would be happier, but apart from this minor issue of waiting a little longer for support, they are still one of the best online hosting companies online for you to work with today.
Len
US
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: September 21, 2010
A free domain, unlimited emails, and unlimited disk space, are some features I love. With Host Gator, downtime was rarely an issue. in fact, they rate about 9.5/10 on this front in my opinion.

In terms of service, you can't find a company that does it better than them either. If I call in I speak to a live person within three to four minutes at most. from there, they guide me through all issues I need to have resolved.

Email support is a little slower. a ticket is generally responded to within a few hours of writing. At most, a day. If you can't find the answer online, someone will answer or will respond to an email to help you find the answer.

I find their control panel to be extremely easy to use as well. in fact, the icons allow me to easily adjust site features, and anything that I want to change on my site, is literally drag and drop. Their features could not be easier to learn. even for a person who is not very technically in tune with site building, you can't go wrong when you choose to build your site with Host Gator, it is really a fool proof process, that anyone is going to find easy to do with their hosting services.

I love this host. I love the quality of service, the type of features and I love the low prices that many other hosts do not offer, for such excellent services that I receive with this host.
Xia
Hong Kong
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
submitted: July 27, 2010
hostgators service is the absolute wors.

me site went down first week that I registered with hostgator. On top this, site was not down for few hours or even a day, but 3 days until them to get server back up.

I of course droped them as quick as I signed up with them.

Be caryfull and have a good look before you sign.
Gunnar Svenson
Sweden
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.7
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: July 5, 2010
Their servers are down too often. They have non existent service teams and their ghost team online is amateur to say the best.

They have horrible features, and the price is low but you can't even run your site or have it up for too long as something is always going wrong with their businesses.

I have been with them for only a few months and things seem to be going bad and getting worst by the day. I do not think I can continue to see my business struggle due to the poor service and negligence of this hosting company.

The prices are low, but these are some of the reasons why you are paying such a low price to do business with Hostgator.
Wilbert Carey
Great Britain
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
submitted: September 9, 2009
Knowledgable support guys, helped me with everything. I like their control panel. It's easy to use and intuitive. I had an issue a few times with downtimes though, but they always got it back running in less than 2 hours. I guess there is no host without downtime, so I am ok with that.
Newton Maxwell
Kongo
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: April 3, 2009
Host gator was superb until today (4 months and counting). The site was built easier than I thought before. It was always up and running swiftly. The price is ok.
Phil
US
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.4
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
submitted: February 22, 2009
In the Host Gator "Hatchling" plan the highest amount of parallel background processes is 20. Using many email accounts at once and website stuff is making everything slow and pretty limited. You get unlimited storage, traffic and so on, sure. But watch out! The limited processes are the way that Host Gator is putting a peg onto everything to keep it down. If you have a small site and don't use too much other stuff it could work fine though. Just my 2 cents...
Alonso
Mexico
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.7
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.3
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.0
submitted: June 6, 2008
My uncle asked me for good host one week ago. I told him host gator as good host. Yesterday he write me and his site now down. Too bad now I seem like fool.
Bryan Levine
United States
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: February 28, 2008
HG provides me with a contact agent. This person helped me out several times already. At other hosts they have a ticket system and every answer in the same thread is from another support guy. HG makes that more personal and I like that. In the 3 years with them I needed support only a few times. My personal contact agent always solved my issue swiftly.

If I could, I would rate "support" with 7 stars instead of 5, because HG definitely is off the charts.
 

About Buy-Hosting.net

Buy-Hosting.net is a webmaster ressource that helps you to choose the right web hosting provider for your individiual needs.

We are crazy about great web hosting, competitive prices and comparability. Discover in-depth reviews by our editors and users, ratings and coupons. Check out great blog posts about hosting-related topics for webmasters. How about you contributing and writing a user review too?