iPage Editor's Review

iPage Company Overview

Founded in 1998, iPage now provides shared hosting, to over 1 million customers; unlimited storage, bandwidth, and my SQL, are all part of the all inclusive plan. Starting at $3.95, it also provides an anytime money back guarantee; and, as a 100% Green host, the company prides itself on energy efficient hosting to clients. There are several options with hosting; the get a site, even if you are unfamiliar with hosting slogan, is one which the company has stuck by; it helps customers, even if they are unfamiliar with online tools, to build a site that works. And, with over $450 in bonuses, you can't go wrong with early marketing plans. A strict security focus is in place; and, customers receive a $100 security suite, and badge guarantee, which ensures your site, and site visitors are secure, with iPage hosting.

Price Value

Unlimited storage, bandwidth, emails, and my SQL, with a current promotion of $3.25 (with three year subscription), or $3.50 with one year. Free site builder apps, the $450 bonuses, $100 security suite, 24/7 customer support, free marketing tools, and the anytime money back guarantee, are all included in this low price.

Reliability and Performance

The load of request, is balanced into the pooled server architecture; this means several servers, running several sites, in the same pool. Max reliability, high redundancy rates, and the latest security standards are all in place. Generators are also in place, to ensure the highest uptime guarantees with your site.

Features and Control Panel

Site search, Adwords campaign, and a few other Google features, are all integrated on to the control panel with iPage. This, along with the standard control panel features, such as email set up, or my SQL databases, and website visitor stats available on the control panel, make running your site with iPanel a breeze.

Support

With 24/7 support any day of the year, and a guarantee to connect you to a live person in under 2 minutes, you will have all questions answered immediately. This, along with live online support, email, and the online links and sources, are all available to customers, to get the answers that they need. Online chat, and additional resources are available through FAQ sections; this means in one way or another, the right answer will be reached, and customers won't wait on hold for several minutes just to get the answer to a yes or no question which they have about their plan.

Conclusion

Its hard to believe; only $3.25 a month, and over $450 in bonus marketing tools, but this is what you get when you choose iPage as your online host. A low price, high performance, various features, and great support, are all part of the package you are going to receive, for the low monthly price you pay for your hosting needs.

The control panel is a bit average, but extraordinary features, and shared hosting, are some benefits that make up for that. For small to mid-size businesses, in need of decent hosting, and a very low price, you can't find many which are much better than what you get with iPage.
Michael Lederstatter
Editor-In-Chief
Michael loves helping people like you finding the best hosting provider for their individual needs.

Michael is founder of Buy-Hosting.net and the web agency www.website-werkstatt.de. He works as a web designer and server admin since 1998.

When he's not blogging, he's probably outdoors growing food in his garden or doing something awesome with his dearest and the kids.
Editor rating:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  • One of the best price values in the industry
  • Highly reliable and strong performance
  • Extremely fast 24/7 support
  • Anytime money back guarantee + $450 bonuses
  • Green: Powered by 100% wind energy
  • Offers only shared hosting at the moment
Screenshot of iPage's web site

iPage Reviews by 15 Users

 
Total Rating:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.6
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.7
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.4
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.7
 
15 User Ratings
5 Stars
 
7
4 Stars
 
3
3 Stars
 
0
2 Stars
 
2
1 Star
 
3
Blake F.
Mexico
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.9
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: June 22, 2014
After MS closed down their hosting, I made a switch over to iPage. I like the simple drag and drop design style. The icons make building simple and you can easily select the features you want to add to your page. Or leave out the ones you do not want to add. Due to the fact that I am currently out of the US, it was great that they offer 24/7 customer service and support. Both online, as well as over the phone and via online chat. This gave me the further assistance that I needed, when I was building my site. Any question I had, it was generally answered within a few hours, or the same day at latest. When I needed help with wordpress installation and plug ins, support offered great assistance and walked me through all the steps of the process. Great service, decent price and ease of transition from another host were some of the things that I liked about iPage.
Lowell Moreno
Philadelphia
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: April 6, 2014
It seems Ipage recently changed their structure. Previously, I had unlimited bandwidth and disk space. out of the blue, this disk space was cut down to 20 GB or less.

It is no problem, but I was disappointed with the major change and no warning that they were going to begin capping things off. Customer service is still good, in my opinion.

They are quick to answer calls and they provide great email support as well. I find Ipage's control panel is decent. It's great to see everything and site metrics in one place.

Over the years I have liked their service, their site builder, and the fact that I can do it all on one page. Plus they offer a great deal and I keep the rate I signed up with. So it is still a good host for my needs.
Parker C.
United States
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: December 16, 2013
I am a beginner to online website building and just began my e commerce site. I like how simple it was for me to build my site with ipage's tools. In addition to the simplified online navigation and control panel, they provide excellent support services as well. If I had a question, it was answered quickly and easily. I also like the fact that the site builder and step by step guides help me build my page. I am not really that experienced in technical design and iPage made building my site a breeze.The fact that everything is drag and drop allowed me to modify and add different features to my site as needed. I am glad I chose iPage.
Rodrick Meyer
US
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.7
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
submitted: June 27, 2013
I have been a fan of ipages great service, since I initially chose them. Not only have I never experienced an issue with downtime or slow server problems. I also appreciate their great support which is always online. If I need a quick question answered, I can turn to the online chat function. someone is always on, and answers questions immediately. If it is a more complex question, phone support is great, as is email help, which they generally respond to rather quickly as well.

The visitor stat page is also a great feature. Right from my control panel, I not only see what visitors like and think about my site, but I can also easily monitor the site visitors, and how long they are on my site. Several features and a simplified control panel also makes site access simple and navigation a breeze. I am glad that I made the decision to choose ipage. I have always had a great experience. my customers love the site and layout. The price is great.
Xaver Moellinger
Austria
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.6
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
submitted: March 30, 2013
I have been with iPage for over 5 years and could not be happier. I love the site features and I like their intuitive dashboard design. It is very easy to use and even easier to navigate my site.

I like the support system. you can either submit an email ticket, you can use the online chat features or you can also call in for support. They are a bit slow (I generally wait about 5 minutes to talk to someone over the phone), but online email and chats are great.

I have had no issues with downtime either. a couple of times my site would not load, but within a few minutes this was resolved and it has not been an ongoing issue with them. Prices are great. For what you receive you can't ask for a lower price point. I am happy with iPage.
Dick Whitaker
Liverpool
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.3
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: May 2, 2012
I really enjoy ipage's control panel's drag and drop features. this allows for quick changes and easy monitoring of my site at any time. I like the fact that the icons are easy to navigate and making updates or modifying my site is simple. The support ipage provided was great. I like how simplified their explanations are and how quickly they were able to assist me in fixing problems when building my site. Ipage also provides great service options. you can combine a number of features and alternative site layouts quickly and easily.
Daryl B.
Minneapolis
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.5
submitted: August 22, 2011
We have chosen ipage for five years now. for the first four it was great. Quick response times, easy site builder features and great customer service. But at the end of 2013, it seems they were sold, moved servers, or something else happened. Our site locks up and we can't access it every once in a while. The speeds are slow, response times are slow and their service has gone down the drain. We are waiting for the year to expire and we are going to leave. Its too bad because we were happy with the professional look of our site, the features and the functionality.
Pjotr Molarov
Russia
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.9
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
submitted: August 7, 2011
I been with Ipage for many years. Although often downtime did occur other than this I had no issues. Quick hosting with low price, unlimit space and easy set up site features. But over past year or so things change. I cant call customer service phone simply rings, no answer?! I have submitted email complaint, but no answer?! What is this?

I am planning on making changing to new host in near future. I was happy customer for years very few complaints. But over past year things gone down and it seems there is no repair which I find badly. This is no good any more.
Alan A.
USA, New York
Knowledge: Intermediate
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: April 16, 2011
I am not sure what the negative reviews are all about iPage. I have never had a problem with them.

I have about three sites currently running through their hosting, and do not have a problem with downtime on any of these sites. The site builder, drag and drop features and simple to use icons make building your site a cinch. I like the fact that you can see all site metrics right on the dashboard.

IMO iPage offers great plan options. I have more than one site, so I do receive a discount price through them as well. I also appreciate the fact that they offer great support. if I call in, I generally get an answer within a couple of minutes and am speaking to a live person, not a recording.

I can't speak on email support, as I have never used it. But I am quite happy with my site, and the domain services. I have experienced downtime only once or twice in over 2 years, and love their great support. Overall, I really love iPage's plans and price scheme.
Kirby Drake
United States
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.4
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
3.5
submitted: March 22, 2011
Similar to Godaddy, iPage it is a major host and has problems some time down the road. Early on, things were great. Quick response times, easy site building features and everything I needed to see right on the dashboard. But a few months in, speeds were slow, response time on mobile devices was slow and they moved my site to a different server which caused crashes and other errors.

I was unhappy to say the least. Low price point is the reason I stayed with iPage for a few months before moving on. They do have low price package options and do provide good support no matter when you call or email in. So I have to give them stars on this front, but in terms of operations and functionality of my site, things began to go downhill not too long after I signed up.
Helga
Austria
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.4
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
2.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.3
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: July 4, 2010
When I signed up they said everything is fully compatible with PHP. However I found that they use Weebly for drag and drop wich is not. That makes me really angry.
Gail W.
USA
Knowledge: Experienced
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
  not recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
0.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
1.0
submitted: June 27, 2010
Ipage has quite a few server limitations on email, disk space, and apparently their bandwidth as well. They also have problems with downtime, quite frequently as per what we have experienced over the past few months. Email support is almost non existent, and phone support you have to wait too long to get a response through an agent. I find the site was easy to build, and easy to modify through the dashboard. But it is too often slow so our customers are always having a problem to sign on to our site. I do not know what is wrong with Ipage. We will change that soon and go away unless a major change is made. Horrible service. Plus our site is slow, so it is hard to stay with a company that can't even keep your site ranking well on Google for the poor speed.
Gary Bradshaw
Canada
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: April 23, 2010
Best Support ever!
Fastest Website and 100% up!
Great features and low price!
Irwin
Utah
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.8
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
submitted: February 13, 2010
I like ipage. having an issue i always found someoune who wanted to help me and solved it. on the internet they say that ipage is number one and that is true. starting my website with them was a good idea.
Salvador
Mexico
Knowledge: Newbie
Total:
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
  recommended
Price Value:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Uptime:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.0
Features:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
4.5
Support:  
Ratingstar1Ratingstar2Ratingstar3Ratingstar4Ratingstar5
5.0
submitted: October 27, 2008
My experience with IPage is that they were always flexible. Support team always understood my enquiries immediatly correctly. I could even combine more than one website below one account wich is great for administration.
 

About Buy-Hosting.net

Buy-Hosting.net is a webmaster ressource that helps you to choose the right web hosting provider for your individiual needs.

We are crazy about great web hosting, competitive prices and comparability. Discover in-depth reviews by our editors and users, ratings and coupons. Check out great blog posts about hosting-related topics for webmasters. How about you contributing and writing a user review too?